Home Login/Join My Space Help Members Forums Search Today's Active Topics New Since Last Visit

Moderators: Bruce, SusanneW
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

swallowing
 Login/Join

posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
Andy loves to go out and eat but his swalling has gotten more often and is very hard on everyone when it happens when we are eating out.
So looks like we won't be eating out anymore.
it makes me feel sad.
Picture of Bruce
posted   Hide PostReply With QuoteReport This Post  
I can understand the situation and concern. There is swallowing exercises that I have been practicing for about six months. They seem to help me quite a bit. I haven't had a serious problem in several months now. Have him give it a shot. It can't hurt. The link to it is: http://www.kennedysdisease.org/disc_tips_throat.html. Have him start with a few and progress from there. I highly recommend the one where you stick out your tongue and close your teeth on it and then swallow ten times. It is difficult at first, but becomes easier with practice.

Also, smaller bits, more chewing, and no talking while eating also helps.

Good luck.
<Bob>
posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
I think this exercise is a great idea for our husbands to start before swallowing becomes an issue. My husband has trouble chewing his food. He doesn't eat near as much as he used to as he gets tired. He chokes a lot at night and is getting a lot of flem or something in his throat at night. The Dr at MDA said he can't choke to death on his own saliva, as if he were to pass out, his muscles would eventually relax and he would breath. - Lois
With swallowing difficulties, does anyone have the sensation that the mouth is dry while having excess saliva? My dad describes his swallowing and chewing difficulties this way. The best that I can understand it is that it feels like your mouth is numb after the dentist visit. (Just had a reminder on that a few weeks ago, not fun)