Home Login/Join My Space Help Members Forums Search Today's Active Topics New Since Last Visit
Kennedys Disease Association Homepage    Kennedys Disease Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion  Hop To Forums  Open Topic    Any region or Surnames ever studied for KD?
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Bruce, SusanneW
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any region or Surnames ever studied for KD?
 Login/Join

Picture of Lolo
posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
I have thought about this question a lot. Since so few actually have KD, has there ever been a study as to an original region of the world where this can be traced to? My other thought is how about surname research? I have been doing my own genealogy for about 35 years so ancestors have always been of interest to me.

I have yet to find anyone in my husbands' line other than his uncle whom probably has Kennedy's too. Not sure if I am following the gentics correctly?

Spouse> mother was carrier
Uncle >brother to spouses' mother so grandmother was a carrier.

Grandmom lived from 1907-2009 and showed no signs. She only had the two children a carrier and a male who has KD.

Would I next follow to grandmothers mother or her father? Seems to me grandmother would have been a carrier through her own mother?

If great-grandmother was a carrier, her surname was HIEAK or Hyek. She was born in Iowa. Her parents were from Bohemia, Czechoslovakia.
Her parents were a Hajek and a Divishek.

Anyone else with KD with this surname or area? Am I going back the right way? If not, where am which way does this gene take?

Thank you and maybe, just maybe figuring this out could help?
Picture of Lolo
posted   Hide PostReply With QuoteReport This Post