Home Login/Join My Space Help Members Forums Search Today's Active Topics New Since Last Visit

Moderators: Bruce, SusanneW
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Here
 Login/Join

posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
Hello to all of you

I've got to say i'm really glad to have found this place after lots of intensive searching on the net about KD.

I'm an spanish nurse whose father has just been diagnosed with this disease. Its come as a shock to all of us. I'm still worried about the posibility of ALS.

I really hope to find some light in here and be of any help.
Picture of Lolo
posted   Hide PostReply With QuoteReport This Post  
A muscle biopsy first followed by a genetic blood test was what confirmed Kennedy's over ALS for my spouse. His uncle has been under the ALS diagnosis for about 17 years now as he did not want to go through the testing. The genetic blood test was VERY expensive but frankly, glad we know for sure!

Good luck, hope it is Kennedy's.
Many thanks for your response.
My father has been done some kind of blood test that, in his neurologist words, proved to be KD. This has been the fist exam he'd taken after a electromyography.
I've heard many of you telling about how easy is to be misdiagnosed with ALS, but if a blood test it's done there're no place for doubts.

Should i trust the neurologist or should i go for a second opinion?

Many thanks, it's been ey hard to all of us
Picture of Lolo
I suppose a second opinion would be one your father or a family as a whole would need to decide. If he has a proven genetic blood test, I would think another opinion wouldn't be needed but again, up to dad.