Home Login/Join My Space Help Members Forums Search Today's Active Topics New Since Last Visit
Kennedys Disease Association Homepage    Kennedys Disease Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion  Hop To Forums  Open Topic    Thinking of my grandfather

Moderators: Bruce, SusanneW
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Thinking of my grandfather
 Login/Join

Picture of Pocatello Jim
posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
I know that yesterday was Mother's Day, but I spent the morning thinking of my grandfather. You see, Saturday we rearranged the living room. We was mostly my wife and children, especially my 17 year old son. But even with my minimal participation, I woke up Sunday weak and sore. Because it was Mother's Day, however, there was no way I staying home from church. As I struggled through my morning routine, I remembered my Grandfather, who was never diagnosed with KD, but who had all the symptoms.

He was a brick layer by trade and I remember my grandmother telling me how he had such a hard time at work that he would arrive at a job an hour early so that he could have everything just the way he needed it without the other men, especially the contractor, seeing how difficult the work was for him. And, how he would be so exhausted at the end of the day, that he would wait until everyone else had left before he made the effort to get to his truck and drive home. I remember when I was 6 years old, seeing him in a cast. He broke his leg when he fell on a job site. He was 52 years old and never fully recovered. He, like many of us, went on disability after that.